The first secretary-general of the United Nations

Secretary-General, who is directly responsible for the implementation of the role of the United Nations in the follow-up to global issues and crises afflicting States. The first effective role of the Secretary-General of the United Nations emerged since the Second World War. Over time, the responsibilities and functions of the Secretary-General have evolved; To carry out his role in the United Nations.

Trigf Halvedan Lee is the first Secretary General of the United Nations since 1946 to 1952. Trigf Lee was born on 16 July 1896 in Norway, specifically in Oslo. He joined the Norwegian Labor Party within the Youth Organization in 1911. He obtained a law degree from the University of Oslo in 1919 and became assistant to the Secretary of the Labor Party The period of time between 1919 – 1922, and then became a legal adviser to the Union of Trade Unions in Norway, and remained in this position until 1935.

When the Labor Party formed a Norwegian government, Trigf Lee assumed the post of Minister of Justice from 1935 to 1939. He then became Minister of Industry and Trade. During World War II, he became Minister of Shipping and Logistics. In 1941 he became Minister for Foreign Affairs of Norway. He also participated in the Norwegian Parliament in the years 1939 and 1945.

Trigf Lee participated in the United Nations Conference in San Francisco in 1945 as Chairman of the Delegation of Norway. In 1946 he was the head of the Norwegian delegation to London to participate in the General Assembly of the United Nations. On 1 February 1946, Trigf Lee was elected Secretary General of the United Nations, becoming the first person to hold this title. He continued to carry out this function until his resignation in 1952 and was subsequently appointed to many other positions. He died on December 30, 1968.

Tasks performed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations

The post of the Secretary-General of the United Nations is a function of a special nature, linked to a range of functions of the Secretary-General, and the most important of it:

  1. Participate in daily consultations with world leaders and officials.
  2. To travel to all parts of the world; in order to contribute to improving the overall international situation.
  3. Take care to alert the Security Council of any issue that might threaten global peace.
  4. To propose a set of issues to United Nations bodies or their General Assembly in order to participate in its discussion.
  5. Contribution to arbitration between international disputes that arise between the States Members of the United Nations.

United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization aimed at strengthening international economic and political cooperation among its member States. The United Nations seeks to implement a set of special programs in social and economic development, which is committed to supporting human rights and reducing global conflicts. Since its founding in 1945 after the League of Nations, the United Nations has been interested in strengthening the role of security, cooperation and international peace among all countries in the world.

History of the United Nations

The formation of the UN body dates back to 1945, with the aim of contributing to the resolution of conflicts, international wars and attention to the follow-up of special conditions for refugees from countries affected by war. The Charter of the United Nations was signed after it was ratified by France, the United Kingdom, the United States and the Soviet Union. In 1946, New York City became the seat of the United Nations, In 1948, Human Rights was declared the first agreement among member states on the rights and freedoms of individuals, such as freedom of expression, religious freedom, the right to education, the right to work, and others.

The United Nations is using a group of international organizations for several directly related functions, most of which are located in New York City within the headquarters of the Commission. These organizations comprise the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Trusteeship Council and the Secretariat, the Economic and Social Council. For the International Court of Justice, it is located in the Netherlands in The Hague.

Member States of the United Nations

Since the establishment of the United Nations in the twentieth century, most of the countries of the world have joined it, and the following information about the names of these countries, and years of accession to the United Nations:

  • 1945, Japan, the United States of America, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Austria, Norway, Northern Ireland, Britain, the Soviet Union (Russia), Poland, the Philippines, Peru, Paraguay, Panama, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Mexico, Luxembourg, Liberia, Lebanon, , India, Iraq, Honduras, Haiti, Guatemala, Greece, France, Ethiopia, El Salvador, Egypt, Ecuador, Dominican Republic, Denmark, Czechoslovakia, Cuba, Costa Rica, Colombia, China, Chile, Canada, Brazil, Bolivia, Belgium, Belarus, Australia, Argentina, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Uruguay and Yugoslavia.
  • 1946: Thailand, Sweden, Iceland and Afghanistan.
  • 1947: Yemen, Pakistan.
  • 1948: Myanmar (Burma).
  • 1950: Indonesia.
  • 1955: Sri Lanka, Spain, Romania, Portugal, Nepal, Libya, Laos, Jordan, Italy, Ireland, Hungary, Finland, Cambodia, Bulgaria, Austria and Albania.
  • 1956: Japan, Morocco, Sudan and Tunisia.
  • 1957: Malaysia, Ghana.
  • 1958: Guinea.
  • 1960: Togo, Somalia, Senegal, Nigeria, Niger, Mali, Congo, Chad, Central African Republic, Cameroon, Burkina Faso (Upper Volta) and Burkina Faso (Volta).
  • 1961: Tanzania, Sierra Leone, Mongolia and Mauritania.
  • 1962: Uganda, Trinidad and Tobago, Rwanda, Jamaica, Burundi and Algeria.
  • 1963: Kenya and Kuwait.
  • 1964: Zambia, Malta and Malawi.
  • 1966: Barbados, Botswana, Guyana, Lesotho.
  • 1968: Swaziland, Mauritius and Equatorial Guinea.
  • 1970: Fiji.
  • 1971: United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Oman, Bhutan, Bahrain.
  • 1973: Germany, Bahamas.
  • 1974: Guinea-Bissau, Grenada and Bangladesh.
  • 1975: Cape Verde, Comoros, Mozambique, Papua New Guinea, Sao Tome and Principe and Suriname.
  • 1976: Seychelles, Samoa, Angola.
  • 1977: Vietnam, Djibouti.
  • 1978: Solomon Islands, Dominica.
  • 1979: Saint Lucia.
  • 1980: Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Zimbabwe.
  • 1981: Antigua and Barbuda, Belize and Vanuatu.
  • 1983: Nevis, St. Kitts.
  • 1984: Brunei.
  • 1990: Liechtenstein and Namibia.
  • 1991: Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, North Korea and South Korea.
  • 1992: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, San Marino, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.
  • 1993: Slovakia, Monaco, Macedonia, Eritrea, Czech Republic and Andorra.
  • 1994: Palau.
  • 1999: Tonga, Nauru and Kiribati.
  • 2000: Tuvalu.
  • 2002: East Timor and Switzerland.
  • 2006: Montenegro.
  • 2011: Southern Sudan.

The number of countries currently present in the United Nations is about 193 countries around the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!